Governor Kachapin concedes defeat

Senator Elect Samuel Poghisio receive his certificate joined by his wife

Winners of 2017 general elections in West Pokot County have been awarded  their certificates by the independent and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) as Kachapin concedes defeat .

The ceremony that took place yesterday night at County tallying centre at Mtelo hall saw leaders drawn from different political divide.

Senator Elect Samuel Poghisio receive his certificate joined by his wife

Yesterday supporters of the winners thronged the streets of Makutano Township to celebrate their victory.

They made a triumphant entry at the County tallying centre at Mtelo hall even before the final results were announced.

West Pokot Governor elect  Prof.  John Lonyangapuo garnered 86,822 against  his  Simon Kachapin who got 63,691  while  senator elect Samuel Poghisyo (KANU) garnered 91569 against Julius Murgor of Jubilee who got 59,277 .

In Women Rep race  Lilian Tomi Tom (Jubilee)  garnered 62,785  after beating his closet rival Catherine Mukenyang (Kanu) who got 52,988 out of 712 polling centers  were declared winners by the IEBC County returning officer Mr. John Mwangi .

Others in the women representative seat like immediate former County Women representative Regina Nyeris got 2535,Knight Chongorio got 716,Bright Chepkasan got 839,Teresa Lokichu got 2,568,Lilian Plapan got 1,411 and Mary Lokiriko got 613

Governor Simon Kachapin of jubilee party conceded  defeat after official announcement of results by IEBC at County tallying centre in Mtelo hall .

Governor elect Prof John Lonyangapuo receive his certificate from the county returning officer John Mwangi flagged by his deputy Dr. Nicholas Atudonyang and his wife Dr. Lonyangapuo

Other new elected leaders who were declared winners  in their constituencies  include members of parliament  of Kapenguria Samuel Moroto(Jubilee)  who garnered 16,094 after beating Luka Chepelion of Kanu who got 15,131  and Haron Siwatum Rumaita (National Vision Party) who got 6000.

Mark Lomunokol (Kacheliba)of PDR Party got 16,120 and was declared winner after defeating John Lodinyo (Jubilee) who got 13,620 and Ibrahim Longolomoi of Kanu who got  3,520 and Albany Peter who got 167 votes.

In Sigor constituency MP elect Peter Lochakapong was  declared the winner and awarded certificate

In Pokot South constituency David Pkossing retained his seat with 19033 votes against Stephen Kolimuk[Kanu] who got 17954 and Simon Kalekem[CCM] who gannered 4056 votes.

In his acceptance Speech West Pokot County Governor elect Prof John Krop Lonyangapuo promised to unite all the elected leaders in the county for development to be realized.

“We don’t want to work in isolation.We shall be doing consultation even with our competitors to ensure a balanced development.,”he said.

Prof. Lonyangapuo warned against divisive politics in the County .

Prof said he will promote peaceful coexistence between the neighboring Counties of Turkana and Elgeyo Marakwet.

Outgoing West Pokot  County Governor  Simon Kachapin conceded defeat at 4 am  this morning and congratulated Lonyangapuo for the win.

“Leadership is given by the people and democracy is all about respecting the will of the people ,”he said.

He said that he will collaborate with the national government to spur development in the area.

Kachapin cited that he has laid foundation in the county for the period he has served as the Governor urging his successor to continue with the projects he initiated.

He added saying that he will be the opposition leader in the county and criticize the incoming government.

However Only three members of County assembly retained their seats as  Jubilee party got 9 seats in the County assembly while  Kanu party got 8 seats .