Trans Nzoia MCAs sworn in as Speaker is elected

Trans Nzoia County Assembly Speaker Joshua Werunga after he was sworn in
Trans Nzoia County Assembly Speaker Joshua Werunga after he was sworn in

Joshua Mutoto Werunga has been elected as the Trans Nzoia County Assembly speaker after trouncing Andrew Mukhisa Wanyonyi, and Walubengo Waningilo. The exercise to elect the speaker commenced after 39 MCAs were sworn in by the clerk Aineah Indakwa.

Joshua Werunga emerged victorious in the first round after he garnered 22 votes, Walubengo Waningilo got 9 votes, while Andrew Wanyonyi got 8 votes, as a result, they had to go to the second round, as Werunga and Waningilo locked horns. Werunga garnered 25 votes, while Waningilo got 14 votes.

Makutano ward MCA Joseph Njoroge was elected the deputy speaker, with 32 votes, while his competitor Jeremiah Paul got 6 votes. One vote was rejected.

Jubilee has 20 MCAs, while NASA has 16 MCAs, with 3 stationed as independents. The whole exercise was conducted peacefully without any disturbances.

While addressing the Assembly, Speaker Werunga promised to preside over legislations that will have positive impacts to the County residents, and he urged the leaders to discharge their duties without any political inclinations. He urged them to conduct themselves with decorum and be the voices of reason that will catapult the County to greater heights.

He also said he won’t tolerate corruption, and questioned the viability of the development projects set up during the previous regime.