Perspective of the World from Western Kenya

Bookmark and Share

Nandi County PNU Alliance delegates elect new officials after decamping from PNU

Written by Shillah Mwadosho
2012-04-19 15:11:00
Read 721 Times

 Delegates of Party of National Unity (PNU) Alliance in Nandi County braved Wednesday rains to elect their top county party officials.

The hundreds of delegates from the four constituencies in the county who defected from PNU over allegations of being sidelined and ignored by Saitoti’s PNU and joined Kiraitu Murungi’s PNU Alliance party queued to vote for various positions of the officials. 

The election held at Kipchoge stadium saw former Nandi County PNU Chairman Simion Murkelda Ngeny elected as the top official and would be assisted by Jonah Birech in the execution of party duties.

The delegates from Aldai, Mosop, Emgwen and Tindiret constituencies vowed to work closely with Kiraitu Murungi and give a big blow to Saitoti’s PNU party which they declared as “inconsiderate and misinformed in its agenda.” (Read: Former PNU delegates from Nandi County join the PNU Alliance

Ngeny said that he contacted Kiraitu and agreed that in a week’s time, party office would be opened so that party strategies are laid in time before official campaigns kick off.

“I have just talked with Kiraitu and he has promised that he would be here in a week’s time to officially open party office at Kapsabet town,” Ngeny announced minutes after he was elected.

The delegates called on Deputy Prime Minister Uhuru Kenyatta to join the party saying that it would be wise for him to make quick decision and lay down his political agenda.

“We are still calling on Kenyatta to join us so that we can sail together to victory,” Ngeny said to the applause of the delegates.

Birech said that the party would unite with other parties and further promised the delegates that they will be well represented.

Other county officials elected include: Francis Rob, Emily Mase, Paul Tanui, David Yego, Cleophas Tanui, Mary Samoei, Grace Sitienei and Thomas Lel as secretary, deputy secretary, treasurer, deputy treasurer, organizing secretary, women leader, deputy women leader and youth leader respectively.

Other Related Stories
Registration of persons commences in Bungoma County
Let’s stop the violence and killings, First Lady appeals to Kenyans.
Bungoma Governor Lusaka signs six bills into law
Big win for teachers as Court orders TSC to give 60% salary increment
Plans underway for burial of former Trade and Industry Minister’s son
Release County funds,Munya tells government
Standard Three pupil dies after punishment for absenteeism
A business man is killed by gangs in Lwakhakha
Musalia Mudavadi ditches UDF
We will not allow cane farming to collapse,President assures farmers
Injured Bungoma AP airlifted to Nairobi for further specialized treatment
Cooperation project is launched between statistics Sweden and Kenya National Bureau of Statistics
AP officer arrested for losing his riffle and ammunations
Raila linked to the Anti-Waiguru push
KNUT says no to NHIF deduction rates
Mother seeks to find her four lost daughters
KRA seeks to improve customer relationship
Digital broadcast urged to enhance local content
Prison warden charged in Kapenguria for possessing illegal drugs
Witness protection (ammendment) bill 2015

© Copyright 2012. WestFM Mobile.