People’s Assembly motion passed by Vihiga County Assembly

NASA leaders with a section of Vihiga County Assembly Members
NASA leaders with a section of Vihiga County Assembly Members. FILE PHOTO

Vihiga County Assembly has passed a motion for the formation of the People’s Assembly in the region. When tabling the motion the House majority leader Wycliffe Masini said the National Super Alliance (NASA) seeks to create people’s Assembly where Kenyans will get a chance to exercise their sovereign power by determining the path to realizing democracy and Constitutionalism in the Country.

Masini said they want the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission reconstituted in line with NASA proposals.

He added that the electoral body did not put into consideration the proposal NASA had tabled before the sham October 26 repeat poll.

“The Chebukati lead team did not put into consideration the proposals NASA had tabled before conducting the shambolic repeat October polls,” he said.

Opposition leaders lead by Siaya Senator James Orengo, Vihiga Governor Dr. Wilber Otichilo, Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala, Homy Bay Woman Representative Gladys Wanga, Nominated Member Of Parliament Godfrey Osotsi, MP Antony Oluoch, Former Kakamega County Senator Bonny Khalwale, former Machakos Senator Johnstone Muthama, Miguna Miguna were in attendance.

Khalwale said the People’s Assembly after being enacted to into law will in the County will consist of Governors, Senators, Women Reps, all nominated MPs, all Ward reps and religious leaders.