All six MCAs in Lugari lose their seats

Ballot boxes
Ballot boxes

The incumbent Members of County Assembly in all the six wards in Lugari constituency lost their seats in the August 9th general elections.

In Mautuma Ward which attracted 11 candidates, Charles Anyona of UDP floored his ten competitors including the incumbent Stephen Mulonga after garnering a total of 2, 679 votes with Mulonga finishing second with 1,876 votes.

In Chekalini ward former MCA and minority leader in Kakamega County Assembly Titus Marachi Kwoma of ANC who lost the seat to Kenneth Indusa of ODM in 2017, returned with a bang recapturing the seat with a total of 2, 465 votes against Indusa’s 1, 661 votes in second position after racing against 12 other candidates

Lugari ward which had the highest number of candidates in the entire constituency had remained vacant after Musa Wangila Makhapila who was elected on an ANC ticket in 2017 transferred his vote to Sang’alo East ward in Bungoma County where he lost. Grey Moi Amutete of UDP has been elected the new Lugari ward MCA after gathering a total of 1,764 votes beating 20 other competitors.

In Lwandeti ward, the longest serving politician in Kakamega County John Luvisia Ngome of ODM who has ruled the ward for 35 years was kicked out by Dan Mukwami of MDP who managed a total of 2,136 votes against Ngome’s1,819 in second position. The ward had a total of 12 candidates.

Lumakanda ward which attracted 10 candidates witnessed a neck- and – neck race between the incumbent Leila Muhandale of UDP and Bernard Mulama of ODM with the latter emerging victorious with 3, 963 votes against Leila’s 3, 381 in second position.

Barasa Godfrey Wambulwa the incumbent Chevaywa ward MCA finished in a shocking seventh position with 653 votes in the race that attracted 13 candidates with Pius Balex Juma of ANC emerging with victory after getting 2,969 votes. Juma served the ward between 2013 to 2017 before losing it to Barasa in 2017 general elections.