Mvurya to succeed Nanok as CoG chair in June; Wangamati to lead Trade Committee

Council of Governors (CoG) Chair Josphat Nanok addressing the press
Council of Governors (CoG) Chair Josphat Nanok addressing the press

Governors have elected Kwale County Governor Salim Mvurya to lead the Council of Governors (CoG) after the current chairman Josphat Nanok leaves the post after six months. The Deputy Chair will be Kirinyaga Governor Ann Waiguru. Bungoma Governor Wycliffe Wangamati has been elected to chair the Trade, Industries, and Investment Committee in the council. Other Committee leaders include Embu County Governor Martin Wambora who will head the Security, Foreign Affairs committee, Narok Governor Samuel Ole Tunai will head the Tourism, and Wildlife Committee, Kiambu Governor Ferdinand Waititu will head the Urban Development, Planning and Lands Committee, Nandi Governor Stephen Sang will lead the Intergovernmental Relations committees, among others.

Speaking in Kwale after making the announcement, CoG chairman Josphat Nanok said the new teams will come in at a time when the nation is still healing from the election period, “These teams of leaders are coming to office at a critical time and they’ll drive the process of healing and cohesion in the country,” he said. He further affirmed that evolution is working and its the responsibility of the Governors to ensure every County flourishes as it is envisaged in the 2010 constitution. He said a peace committee has also been formed, and its main task is to continue the work of healing, reconciliation and cohesion in the country.