Curfew in 13 Western, Nyanza counties revised to 7pm

CS Health Mutahi Kagwe
CS Health Mutahi Kagwe

In revised containment measures notice, the government has revised curfew hours for 13 counties in the Western region from 10pm to 7pm.

The counties are; Busia, Vihiga, Kisii, Nyamira, Kakamega, Kericho, Bomet, Bungoma, Trans Nzoia, Kisumu, Siaya, Homa Bay and Migori.

The counties were individually and collectively declared as Covid-19 hotspot zones.

“That the curfew within the hotspot zone shall be observed between 7pm and 4am daily,” Health CS Mutahi Kagwe said.

In revised containment measures notice, Kagwe said the curfew exempts essential and emergency services.

“…movement between the hotspot zone and the rest of the country is strongly discouraged,’ he said.

All cross-border cargo drivers shall be required to possess a valid certificate indicating a negative Covid-19 test that was conducted no more than 48 hours before commencing their journey, and each cargo truck shall be limited to only 2persons per vehicle.

That, weekly non-food and livestock markets are hereby suspended in the Hotspot Zone for a period of 30 days.

All public gatherings and in-person meetings of whatever nature are prohibited within the Hotspot Zone, including house parties and sporting activities.

All funerals and interment ceremonies within the hotspot zone shall be conducted within 72 hours of confirmation of death.

Night vigils and overnight processions prior to funerals are prohibited within the Hotspot Zone until further notice.