Eseli replaces Wamalwa as deputy minority whip in NASA parliamentary changes

Tongaren MP David Eseli
Tongaren MP David Eseli

Tongaren MP David Eseli Simiyu has replaced Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa as the NASA deputy minority whip in the National Assembly in a raft of changes effected at a parliamentary group meeting that brought together MPs from different parties in NASA held on Thursday. Speaking after the meeting, the minority chief whip and Suna East MP Junet Mohamed said the meting brought together 118 members out of 135, from ODM, Ford Kenya, ANC and Wiper. Several MPs have also been dewhipped from parliamentary committees.

Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa has has been replaced as the representative of NASA/ODM in the parliamentary service commission and has been replaced by Likoni MP Mishi Mboko, and she has also been removed from two committees. Bungoma woman representative Hon. Catherine Wambilianga has been dewhipped from the three committees, the Labour and Social Welfare committee, the Education and Research committee and the Committee on selection. Butere MP Tindi Mwale has been removed from the Energy Committee.

Other MPs who have been dewhipped include Hon. Silvanus Osoro who has been removed from the Agriculture and Livestock Committee, Hon. John Ledepo has been dewhipped from the Defence and Foreign Relations committee, Hon. Mogaka Vincent Kemosi has been dewhipped from the Transport, Public Works and Housing Committee, Hon. Twalib Badi from the Budget Appropriation committee and the Parliamentary Powers and Privileges committee.

Junet said the dewhipped MPs are now isolated and will not be associated with NASA. He said they will not sit in any committee and will go through disciplinary action, which will be laid down by the NASA leadership, if they are to come back. “They will not be attending any parliamentary group meetings going forward,” he said.