Government clarifies the ambiguous presidential order.

Cyrus Oguna
Government spokesperson Cyrus Oguna addressing media. Photo/West Media.

Anyone who was locked in or out of the five zoned counties, that is, Nairobi, Machakos, Kiambu, Nakuru and Kajiado has until Sunday 8 pm to have travelled. This clarification follows confusion among Kenyans from Friday’s presidential address that locked the five disease infested counties. 

The government spokesperson Col. Rtd. Cyrus Oguna while making the clarification said the government was aware of some people who may have traveled in or out of the area for specific reasons and therefore they needed a transition window before the president’s directives came into effect. 

“.This applies to college students as well. On the other hand, individuals who had bought SGR or airplane tickets are allowed to use them between today and next Monday 29th March 2021 by mid-day, a time upon which SGR and domestic flights in and out of the Zoned area shall be suspended,” col. Oguna said.

Oguna further clarified that the counties were listed as one block and not individually. “We wish to clarify that these five Counties have been grouped together into One Zone. Movement is therefore restricted from other Counties into the Zone or from inside the Zone to other Counties,” he said.

The government has therefore ordered for mounting of roadblocks at various points of the five counties. In Nakuru County the points are at Mai Mahiu along Mai Mahiu-Nairobi Road, Kinungi Nairobi-Nakuru Highway, Karunga Market, along Gilgil-Olkalou Road, Subukia along Nyahururu-Nyeri Road, Mau Summit from both Kericho and Eldoret, Kericho/Molo Junction into Molo Town, Mau Narok, Mwisho wa Lami, Kambi ya Moto along Baringo/Nakuru Road and Dondori Market, entering through Lanet.

Nairobi County, sandwiched between Kiambu, Machakos and Kajiado Counties will not have roadblocks to monitor restriction of movement. However, the Regional Police Commander may mount roadblocks to enforce other security and COVID-19 containment measures.

For students sitting for their KCSE in the five counties and have to travel out after the exams, the ministries of education, interior & coordination of national government and respective schools will facilitate the travel of the students once done with exams.

Oguna, also making clarification on curfew passes, said the holders will continue using old ones until Tuesday when new passes are expected to be issued. According to the government application procedure for new passes remains the same and it applies to all journalists, health workers and other essential services providers.

The government has at the same time said, cases of individuals seeking specialized treatment within the Zoned area will be addressed on a case by case basis upon proof of referral and obtaining clearance from the nearest Police Commander. The same applies to the transportation of caskets, which must be disposed of within 72 hours.

“These measures may be inconveniencing and even disruptive to our livelihoods and activities, however, life is sacred, and we must protect it at all cost. The pain and anguish that COVID-19 has visited on many of us should be enough reason for us to work together to contain it. Let us persevere as we collectively combat this pandemic to enable us to go back to normal lives as soon as possible,” he noted.