High Court Judges sworn in a day after being appointed by the President

Supreme Court President Martha Koome (photo courtesy)
Supreme Court President Martha Koome (photo courtesy)

President William Ruto has presided over the swearing in ceremony of 20 High Court Judges at State House in Nairobi on Wednesday 7th Dec, 2022.

The 20 judges were appointed by the President on Monday via a gazette notice after the Judicial Service Commission forwarded names to him for appointed.

The High Court Judges were recommended by the JSC via the President of the Supreme Court and Chairperson of the Judicial Service Commission Justice Martha Koome, the JSC considered; constitutional imperative of merit, gender, regional balance and affirmative action.

Those who have taken oath of office include;

  1. Hon. Gichohi Patricia Njeri
  2. Ms. Mongare Josephine Wayua
  3. Ms. Nyaundi Patricia Mande SC
  4. Hon. Kavedza Diana Rachel
  5. Ms. Chirchir Sophie Chebet
  6. Prof. (Dr.) Sifuna Nixon Wanyama, PhD
  7. Ms. Shariff Mwanaisha Saida
  8. Hon. Nyaga Heston Mbogo
  9. Mr. Mulwa Peter Mutua
  10. Hon. Nthiga Lawrence Mugambi
  11. Mr. Mutai Gregory
  12. Mr. Wananda John Robert
  13. Mr. Mohochi Samwel
  14. Mr.Olel Francis Ochieng
  15. Dr. Githiru Freda Mugambi
  16. Mr. Magare Dennis Kizito
  17. Hon. Macharia Florence Wangari
  18. Hon. Odera Teresa Achieng
  19. Mr. Visram Allem Alnashir
  20.  Mr. Chigiti John Mugwimi

This is the second swearing in ceremony of Judges President Ruto has presided over since he took oath of office.

A day after he was sworn in, Ruto presided over the swearing in of the 6 Court of Appeal Judges who their names were rejected by his predecessor Uhuru Kenyatta.