IEBC clears candidates for various seats in Vihiga County

ODM Godfrey Osotsi displays his certificate after clearance to vie for Senatorial seat
ODM Godfrey Osotsi displays his certificate after clearance to vie for Senatorial seat

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has given a green light to 14 candidates to vie for the Vihiga Senatorial seat.

The 14 will be seeking to succeed Senator George Khaniri who has opted to vie for Vihiga Governorship.

The clearance process for the candidates to vie for the August 9 General Elections kicked off on Sunday and it was expected 17 senatorial aspirants would show up for the process.

The clearance process for the aspirants was led by the County’s IEBC Returning officer Peter Tiyo at Chavakali High school.

“Out of 17, three didn’t show up and we managed to give 14 the clearance certificates to vie for the Senatorial seat,” said Tiyo.

Among those cleared for the Senate seat race are; Jackson Swadi (UDA), Kennedy Butiko (ANC), Godfrey Osotsi (ODM), Joseph Simekha (FPK) and Micheal Madaga (NRA).

Also cleared for the Senate race include; Leonard Ongadi of DAP-K party and Kennedy Imbuki of MDG.

Four incumbent MPs from Vihiga County have also been given the green light to defend their seats after they were cleared to vie by the poll body.

Emuhaya MP Omboko Milemba, his Vihiga counterpart Ernest Kagesi, Chris Omulele (Luanda) and Charles Gimose (Hamisi) have been cleared to defend their seats in the forthcoming General Elections.

Only Sabatia MP Alfred Agoi opted not to defend his seat but go for the Governorship.

Omboko is seeking his second term and he will be fighting against six other aspirants.

“Today I must say thanks to my supporters for the support they have been giving me since 2017 when I was elected for the first term and it’s my prayer the same support will continue,” Omboko said after he was cleared by IEBC at St. Bakitas in Emuhaya Constituency.

In Luanda, Omulele will be facing Tom Atingo of UDA and Dick Maungu of DAP-K.

MP Kagesi of Vihiga will be facing former lawmaker Yusuf Chanzu of UDA and Ken Vitisia of ODM.

Gimose who was also cleared to defend his seat for third term is set to face off 12 other opponents at the ballot.