Kapsabet based lawyer, Philemon Melly elected Nandi County Speaker

Nandi County Speaker Philemon Cheruiyot Melly (Center) with his Deputy Speaker Hon. Wilson Sang
Nandi County Speaker Philemon Cheruiyot Melly (Center) with his Deputy Speaker Hon. Wilson Sang

The Kapsabet based lawyer Philemon Cheruiyot Melly is the Speaker for Nandi County Assembly after being elected by Nandi  MCAs where he garnered thirty four votes out of the total forty four votes in round two against his opponent Philip Kitur who scored only twelve votes.

Melly garnered Twenty six votes in round one against his competitor Kitur who got ten votes which prompted to go for a second round.

Clerk of the County Assembly of Nandi Barnabas Kosgey who sworn in the Speaker elect, spearheaded the exercise to the latter which went on smoothly.

Among the contestants for the Speaker’s post were eleven candidates; former Chesumei MP Dr. Wilson Kogo  also former high school principal who was fronted by the United Democratic Alliance party for the position, lost it to Melly after managing to get only three votes.

Ruto’s Supreme Court Lawyer Kisorio Chebet Jerono got zero votes despite being a re-known lawyer who has been in legal practice for seven years.

Former County Assembly Forum Secretary Kipkurui Chepkwony dropped out of the race some few hours to the election saying that since the party had fronted a candidate, he did it out of loyalty to the party since he didn’t want to spoil the votes for the preferred candidate though he got only three votes.

Melly while giving out his speech after taking oath of office lauded the Members for having faith in him thus vowed to serve the people of Nandi diligently.

“I want to say a big thank you to Members of the County Assembly of Nandi for giving me an opportunity to serve in the capacity of the Speaker, am very grateful.” He added.

Chepkumia Ward MCA Hon. Wilson Sang was elected the Deputy Speaker after beating his opponent Hon. Raymond Chelule and Two others in round one with Thirty Five votes against Ten.

Sang is serving in the same capacity for the Third term now and is very grateful for the Members having elected him as the Deputy Speaker.

Nandi County Assembly has a total of forty four Members of the County Assembly, thirty elected and fifteen nominated.