Nandi MCA’s rejects the BBI Bill

Nandi county assembly in a previous session

The County Assembly of Nandi yesterday became the second county to shoot down the Building bridges Initiative draft constitutional amendment Bill after Baringo county. 

The MCA’s voted in overwhelmingly against the Bill whereby 23 of them voted No while 11 voted yes in presence of the water CAS Dr. Andrew Tuimur who was present at the county assembly during the debate. 

Speaking after the debate, Nandi county Assembly speaker hon Joshua Kiptoo said the assembly upheld the public views by voting against the Bill thus have done their part as wished by the people of Nandi. 

The list of the eleven MCA’s who voted in favor of the proposed legislation are as follows:
Jackson Swadi-Kabwareng ward, Geoffrey Kevolwe-Kiptuiya ward, Charles Maiyo-Maraba/Kemeloi, Wilson Sang-Chepkumia ward, Eliud Kirongo-Kapkangani ward, Hillary Serem-Chemase/Chemelil ward, Dorcas Kirwa-nominated, Jane Chepkoech-nominated, Margaret Nyaundu-nominated, Truphosa Kuto-nominated and Rose Chesang-nominated.

 MCA’s have until April 26, 2021, to debate, approve or reject the constitution of Kenya (Amendment) Bill 2020.
So far, a total of forty-three county assemblies countrywide have voted yes for the BBI Bill while the remaining Four counties of Kilifi, Mandera, UasinGishu, and Elgeiyo Marakwet are yet to vote for it. 
This has happened ahead of the deputy presidents’ visit to Nandi today Friday.