Nation dusk to dawn curfew extended


President Uhuru Kenyatta has said the nationwide dusk to dawn curfew in the 13 Covid-19 hot spot counties will remain from 7pm to 4am until July 31, 2021.

At the same time, the head of state said curfew in the rest of the country will remain from 10pm to 4am for a further 60 days.

The 13 hot spot counties are; Busia, Vihiga, Kisii, Nyamira, Kakamega, Kericho, Bomet, Bungoma, Trans-Nzoia, Kisumu, Siaya, Homa-Bay and Migori.

Speaking during an address to the nation on the Covid-19 situation in the country, Uhuru also said public gatherings are also suspended for another two months to curb the spread of Covid-19.

The president said congregational worship should be conducted with adherence to Covid-19 protocols and in observance of the one-third capacity rule.

However, this is in exception of the hot spot zones.

According to the directives, funerals, cremations and other interment ceremonies should be conducted within 96 hours of confirmation of death.

Attendees, facilitators and officiators of weddings, celebrations of marriage or traditional unions, ceremonies of rites of passage, and all other similar events or ceremonies shall be limited to 100 persons in total.

Mass vaccination campaign will commence in July and there is a plan to vaccinate 10 million Kenyans by Christmas 2021 and 26 millions Kenyans by the end of 2022.

If a vaccine for the underage population is registered by early next year an extra 4 million young adults will be vaccinated by June of 2022.

The head of state said that all persons coming in the country must be in possession of a negative Covid-19 PCR certificate acquired not more than 96 hours prior to arrival in the country with the PCR certificate also having been validated by the trusted travel platform.