ODM clinch Lugari and Likuyani seats


For the first time since the ODM party was formed, Lugari and Likuyani Constituencies were painted orange after hotly contested campaigns

The Orange Democratic Movement clinched both Likuyani and Lugari Members of Parliaments seats in move seen as successful party campaigns in a hotly contested 2022 general elections.
In Likuyani Constituency, Innocent Mugabe of ODM and new entrant in politics pulled a surprise when he floored region seasoned politician Dr. Enoch Kibunguchy (Ford Kenya).
Mugabe bagged majority 17,534 against his close competitor Kibunguchy’s 13,382 a situation that has left many wondering the tactics employed by the MP elect to send home his experienced and development conscious competitor.
According to official results released by Constituency Returning Officer Mr Fredrick Odenge, the MP elect emerged victorious with the difference between the two being 4,161 votes.
Nabii Daraja Nabwera is a new MP elect for Lugari Constituency after vying unsuccessfully in 2007, 2013 and 2017.
Nabwera (ODM) lost in primaries to Evans Musungu in 2007, also attempted in 2013 general election (ODM) but emerged second after Ayub Savula defeated him.
He attempted his third stab on Lugari MP Seat in 2017 but again lost to Savula who is now deputising Fernandes Barasa in quest for Kakamega County Governor in a controversial elections which some of his supporters claim his victory was stolen.
Nabwera did not surrender his dream as Lugari MP still in ODM Party when he was given the mantle again in 2022 general elections which has now yielded fruits after unsuccessful three attempts.
In a results announced by Constituency Returning Officer Jeremiah Kerich at Quakers Church, Lumakanda, Nabii emerged victorious after defeating his other 11 competitors with 23,159 votes followed by his close competitor Isaac Andabwa (DAP-K) who got 11,086 votes.
Alex Atingo (ANC) became third with 6,008 voters and Bryan Liseche (UDP) also new entrant in politics came distant number four with 5,162 votes.
The constituency has 86,908 registered voters with total valid votes, 51,829 rejected votes being 907.
In the presidential race the Azimio la Umoja Presidential candidate Raila Odinga garnered 36,606 votes while his main competitor Kenya Kwanza’s William Ruto got 15,025 votes with David Mwaure and George Wajackoya managed 133 and 298 votes respectively.
Presidential results in Likuyani showed that Azimio la Umoja Presidential candidate Raila Odinga also took lead with 32, 624 votes while his close competitor William Samoei Ruto of Kenya Kwanza managed 9, 361. David Mwaure got 108 votes with Wajackoya managing 176 votes.
Many believe that Azimio La Umoja brigade led by ODM Deputy Party Leader and also Kakamega County Governor Wycliff Oparanya in his tour in the region three weeks before elections changed the opinion vote.
Oparanya who has outstanding development records in his two term as the governor pleaded with Lugari and Likuyani Constituency voters to vote Azimio la Umoja leaders especially ODM aspirants.
“I believe the governor used his outstanding development performance in his two terms as the governor to sway the voting pattern towards ODM especially in MP position,” voter and also supporter of Azimio La Umoja opined.