Oyugi Dick Maungu elected Member of National Assembly, Luanda Sub County.

Oyugi Dick Maungu MP elect
Oyugi Dick Maungu MP elect

Oyugi Dick Maungu of DAP-K the Member of National assembly elect in Luanda Constituency of Vihiga County with 15,298 votes out of 34,620 cast votes.

Oyugi was declared the winner by the Deputy Presiding Officer of Luanda constituency, Celestine Wekesa at Ebusakami Girls high School, the official constituency tallying centre.

He was closely followed by the outgoing member of National Assembly Christopher Omulele who lost the seat on an ODM ticket with 12,271 votes, Obuyi Albert came third with 3,424 votes on a Jubilee party ticket, followed by Tom Atingo the former Member of  County Assembly of Luanda township ward who garnered 3,057 votes  on a UDA ticket. Olala Peter an independent candidate and Boaz Makomere of PPOK got 297 and 296 votes respectively.

Oyugi who will be serving for the first time, thanked Luanda residents for believing in him and promised to work in unity regardless of how the residents cast their votes.

“As a member of County Assembly elect, I’ll work with everyone regardless of how they exercised their democratic rights during election, they are all my people,” said Oyugi.

Of the 56,310 registered voters, 34,620 were total valid votes cast in the Member of National Assembly elective position a total of 592 votes were rejected.

Susan Agoi