Residents move to court to challenge the composition of Malaba Municipal Council Board of Management

Busia County Assemby
Busia County Assembly

Barely two weeks after the Busia County Assembly approved the nomination of seven people as members of Malaba municipality Board, a section of Malaba residents have moved to court challenging the composition of the members of the board.

The residents, led by Okoit Loc Etyang and Peter Ekisa, have disputed the names of the persons who were approved by the assembly citing unequal regional representation.

They argue that most of the members of the board come from Angurai Division, which is not part of the areas that make Malaba Municipality.

‘’How do you come up with a list of people who are not residents of Malaba to come and run the new Malaba Municipality? We need to know the rationale that was used in arriving at the names,” asked Lok Etyang.

‘’We will not allow our municipality to be run by outsiders,” he added.

Those whose names were approved unanimously include Immaculate Amoit, Bishop Mical Kiio, Solomon Abwaku, Stephen Omuse Ijaja,Julius Ekwenye , Rose Amoit and Professor Olubayi Olubayi.

The new Malaba Municipality comprises Malaba Central ward, Malaba South, Malaba North in Teso North Sub County as well as Amukura West Ward in Teso South Sub County.