Vihiga United team strengthened ahead of the National Super League

Vihiga United Chairman Kakhi Indimuli and the new head coach Sammy Okoth
Vihiga United Chairman Kakhi Indimuli and the new head coach Sammy Okoth

Premier League side Chemilil Sugar FC top goalkeeper Morgan Abuko is among ten players recruited by Vihiga United FC.

Kenya under 20 national team midfielder Lesley Otieno from Kariobangi Sharks was among the players unveiled by the Vihiga County sponsored team who will feature in National Super League after being relegated from the top tier.

Experienced coach Nick Yakhama was also unveiled as the club’s Technical Director in a ceremony presided over by County Deputy Governor Dr Patrick Saisi, Chief Officer county Sports Department Dominic Luvavo club’s president Mr Kahi Indimuli at Braodpark hotel in Mbale town.

Other players recruited by United to bolster the team include Richard Swegenye from Vihiga Sportif who last season emerged as the top scorer in the Western FKF Provincial League.

Youngster Peter Joma joins United from Zoo Youth FC, Hillary Otieno and  Kevin Okinda from Administration Police FC, goalkeeper Kelvin Opiyo and defender Micheal Odongo from Thika United FC.

Kenyatta University student Mark Owino joins the team to beef up the defence alongside another defender Absolom Onyango from Migori Youth FC.

Indimuli pointed out that the club was still chasing signatures of three strikers to boost the department. He added that the club had released 15 players following its relegation from the KPL last season.

International defender Benard Ochieng joined Wazito FC while winger Chris Masinza and midfielder Steve Wakanya joined Kakamega Homeboyz.

Other players who parted ways with the club include strikers Amos Kigadi, Ugandan Rashid Kyabadde, Elijah Mwanzia and Godfrey Ayiro.

Others are goalkeepers Levis Opiyo, Patience Ndikuyiro and Caleb Wamalwa, Edwin Mukoya, Timothy Luda, Kevin Muhanji, David Kavaji and Edmond Mauda. “We are happy to inform our fans that we managed to retain 15 key players despite the club going down to the second tier,” said Indimuli.

Some of the retained players include defenders Moffat Liuva, Smith Ouko, Dennis Ombeva, John Muyesu, Zablon Khaemba. Midfielders, Victor Ademba and Patrick Okulo. Wingers, Micheal Isabwa, Mustafa Sagide, and Alex Imbusia.

Strikers still with the club are Lawrence Luvanda, Dennis Wafula, David Saisi and Andrew Murunga alongside goalkeeper Mike Matasio.

Collins Oduor is the new goalkeeper trainer while Sammy Okoth who joined the club as a caretaker coach was confirmed as the head coach.

Saisi assured the team of the county’s continued sponsorship dismissing claims that the county had stopped funding the club. “My presence here together with Chief Officer Sports shows the county government’s commitment to sponsor the club because it is a county government entity,” said Saisi who is also the acting County Executive Member for Sports.