Yattani appointed acting Treasury CS; Muia appointed Treasury PS

Treasury CS Ukur Yattani
Treasury CS Ukur Yattani

Labour Cabinet Secretary Ukur Yattani has been appointed the acting National Treasury Cabinet Secretary, following the court case facing CS Henry Rotich and PS Kamau Thugge. A State House statement noted that the appointment has been made by President Uhuru Kenyatta to ensure smooth operations at the National Treasury. Dr. Julius Muia has been appointed the Treasury Principal Secretary.

CS Rotich and PS Thugge were arraigned at the Milimani Law Courts on Tuesday along with other accused persons, in connection with the Arror and Kimwarer dams scandal, with the former released on a bond of Kshs 50 million or a cash bail of Kshs 15 million each. Apart from depositing their passports and travel documents to the Court, they were directed to keep off their work premises, with magistrate Douglas Ogoti labelling their offices as scenes of crime.

In the reorganization, President Kenyatta has also appointed Torome Saitoti as the State Department of Planning Principal Secretary. Major General (Rtd) Gordon Kihalangwa has been appointed as the Principal Secretary for the Ministry of Defence.